• Categories

It’s Pete’s Birthday

Celebrate the 90th birthday of my hero Pete Seeger. Pete Seeger turns 90 today and the world will celebrate at a tribute concert at Madison Square Garden. Proceeds from the concert will go to help restore the Hudson River sloop Clearwater that Pete built to publicize pollution in the river. If I Had A Hammer, and the price of a ticket, I’d be there.

In 1955, Pete was called before the House Un-American Activities Committee where he said, “I am not going to answer any questions as to my association, my

Pete Seeger

Pete Seeger

philosophical or religious beliefs or my political beliefs, or how I voted in any election, or any of these private affairs. I think these are very improper questions for any American to be asked, especially under such compulsion as this.” For his ethical and moral stand, he was cited for contempt of congress and contempt of court and sentenced to ten years in jail. The conviction was rightly overturned and Pete continues to speak out when and where he is needed.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY PETE!

One Response

  1. Adding to your much appreciated post on Pete “the leader” Seeger’s 90th birthday:
    “Democracy Now !” this morning, on public access television, was devoted to Seeger.
    One of the speakers on the program, an accociate of Seeger’s whose name I don’t recall, notes that other people brought before the Un-American Activities committee pleaded the 5th. Seeger cited the 1st Amendment.
    A key, vital difference, I think, that speaks to his core beliefs.
    Thanks for noting the birthday of this great human.
    – Ruthie
    ruthlmm

Leave a Reply

